Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia - Theta Upsilon Chapter, Delta State University - Cleveland, Mississippi

About Phi Mu Alpha

How To Join

Collegiate Brothers

Alumni Brothers

Faculty Brothers

Past Presidents

All Yearbook Photos

1964 Scrapbook

Governing Documents

Guest Book

Contact Us

National Website

Delta State University

Give to the Sinfonia
     Educational Foundation


Chapter News

Chapter attends Province 24 Workshop
By Andrew Owen

Mark LichtenbergOn the weekend of Martin Luther King Jr. Day, Province 24, which includes all the chapters of Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia that are in Mississippi, held the 2009 Province Workshop.  It was held at Mississippi State University's new fine arts building.  The Theta Upsilon chapter sent twenty-three brothers to the event.  The highlight of the workshop was the in-depth explanation of the proposed revisions to the initiation ritual by the national chair of the Province Governor Council, Mark Lichtenberg (pictured right).

The province used this workshop to elect a Collegiate Province Representative (CPR), Assistant CPRs, and Province Fraternity Education Officer.  The Province elected Brother Ryan Case of Lambda Phi (Mississippi State) to succeed Brother Ben Tuberville, of Theta Upsilon, as CPR.  It elected Brother Tyler Bigham of Lambda Xi (University of Mississippi) and Johnathan McKiney of Lambda Rho (Northwest Mississippi Community College) as Assistant CPRs.  It elected Brother Coday Anthony of Theta Upsilon as the Province Fraternity Education Officer.

The province traveling trophy, the "Mag," had been retrieved a few times in the year, with Lambda Rho winning the most points for 2008.  The province voted to add a no-givesies-backsies rule for the trophy to promote more variety in province interaction.  Theta Upsilon then received the Mag for having so many brothers present at the workshop.

The chapter enjoyed attending the event and looks forward to the next Province Workshop.

Attendees of the second day of the province workshop

© 2019 Theta Upsilon Chapter of Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia.  All Rights Reserved.